iDIDJ Australia Didgeridoo Cultural Hub

For the discussion and appreciation of the traditional Aboriginal didgeridoo and 'Top End' Indigenous culture.
 
It is currently Thu May 17, 2012 9:35 am

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]



Welcome
Welcome to the iDIDJ Australia Didgeridoo Cultural Hub Forum.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple, and absolutely free, so please, <a href="/profile.php?mode=register">join our community today</a>!




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: gentili123 on eBay
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:44 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:39 pm
Posts: 2021
Location: Australia
This guy in Italy is selling drilled teakwood didges as Australian. I don't know what else is in his description as it is in Italian. Martin or anyone else, can you take a read?

gentili123's items of eBay

DIDGERIDOO AUSTRALIANO CM130 FATTO A MANO in EUCALIPTO

Guan

_________________
iDIDJ Australia - Didgeridoo Cultural Hub
E-mail: info@ididj.com.au
Phone: +61 3 9402 0010
Web: http://www.ididj.com.au
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/ididjaustralia
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/guanlim.ididj


Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:12 am
Posts: 406
Location: Southend on sea Essex UK
Made in Indonesia no doubt with an embossed printed excuse for aboriginal "dot" artwork .

Paul

_________________
If at first you don't succeed then Skydiving is not for you!

Paul (OZMADMAN)
http://www.youtube.com/ozmadman
http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/pro ... =788134586


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 151
After the title

"Australian Didgeridoo"

he continues as follows..

"presenting: Fantastic DIDGERIDOO made from Eucalyptus wood.
Decorate your house with something esclusive!!!
and amaze your friends with interesting sounds!!
Imported direct.
Completely hand made.
From: INDONESIA"

and then to confuse everything even more there are these words that have been
lifted from an old website that I wrote (can't remember where but the italian is mine:-)...

"Traditional aboriginal instument consisting of a trunk hollowed out by termites. People intervene in the search for
an appropriate trunk, cleaning of the interior and decoration. The didgeridoo has many different names depending on the spoken
language and the region from which it comes, in Arnhem Land there are many different languages with corresponding names,
bambu, yidaki, mago, gunbarrak...

with an additional comment added by the seller for good measure

"This magical instrument is used also in the western world, using the ancient art of circular breathing, reproducing sounds and vibrations that have antique ritual origins."

MO

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/martinoloughlin
http://www.youtube.com/martindidge
http://www.fluiditj.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 1:01 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:39 pm
Posts: 2021
Location: Australia
Hi Martin,

Thanks for that. Hmmm... 'tis strange, an Australian eucalyptus didgeridoo from Indonesia. I did ask the seller who his supplier is, in case the supplier is Australian and is deceiving him. But I don't think he understood my question. Do you want to try to educate the seller Martin? Since we started this section, I've noticed websites and eBay sellers being more careful about their descriptions for didgeridoos. So we are making a difference on a global scale. Pat on the back everybody !:D

Guan

_________________
iDIDJ Australia - Didgeridoo Cultural Hub
E-mail: info@ididj.com.au
Phone: +61 3 9402 0010
Web: http://www.ididj.com.au
YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/ididjaustralia
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/guanlim.ididj


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 3:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 151
Hi Guan,
I am formulating an email to send off today.
It is very confusing the information as it is presented,
and certainly gives the impression that he is not terribly well-informed.
cheers, Martin

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/martinoloughlin
http://www.youtube.com/martindidge
http://www.fluiditj.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 1:14 am
Posts: 255
Location: Gent, Belgium
Hi guys
it is really nice to see this chapter of IDIDJ evolving and we are not as indifferent as before with more people reacting right off
keep up the good spirit
M

_________________
no matter how thin you chop, it has always two faces!!!

-----------------------------------------------
www.realdidj.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2008 1:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:25 pm
Posts: 151
Just an update on this.
I am afraid that I did not get terribly far after exchanging a couple of emails, silence was the only reply to the second one. .
The chap says that he is new to the didge selling and the info that he
put up on ebay is mostly what the people in Bali told him about the intstruments.
That they are good quality he claims is true as he asked a music professor if they play well
and got a positive response.
He does not seem particularly phased by the fact that artwork is copied or that the instruments are drilled, or made of teak/ not eucalyptus.,
but promised to ask his supplier in Bali about these questions when he goes there (actually he may be there now).

He also says that there is nothing wrong with saying that they are Australian didgeridoos as the didgeridoo is an australian instrument isn't it..

I guess that this is typical of many sellers on ebay, but what more can one do about it?

I do not see how people can happily go to such great efforts to sell crap..!!..

MO

_________________
http://www.myspace.com/martinoloughlin
http://www.youtube.com/martindidge
http://www.fluiditj.com


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
 
suspicion-preferred